Plan year 2027 · Updated October 24, 2026

Health insurance by state

27 states use HealthCare.gov directly for 2027, where open enrollment runs November 1, 2026 to January 15, 2027. Arkansas and Oklahoma run state exchanges on the same platform with the same dates. The other 21 states and DC run their own exchanges and set their own dates; California, District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Virginia stay open past January 15.

2027 open enrollment by state
StateWhere to enrollOpensClosesFor Jan 1 coverageMedicaid expansion
Alabama HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Alaska HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Arizona HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Arkansas Arkansas Health Insurance Marketplace (My Arkansas Insurance) Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
California Covered California Nov 1 Jan 31 by Dec 31 Yes
Colorado Connect for Health Colorado Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Connecticut Access Health CT Oct 23 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Delaware HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
District of Columbia DC Health Link Nov 1 Jan 31 not stated Yes
Florida HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Georgia Georgia Access Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Hawaii HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Idaho Your Health Idaho Oct 15 Dec 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Illinois Get Covered Illinois Nov 1 Jan 15 not stated Yes
Indiana HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Iowa HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Kansas HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Kentucky kynect Nov 1 Jan 15 not stated Yes
Louisiana HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Maine CoverME.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Maryland Maryland Health Connection Nov 1 Jan 15 not stated Yes
Massachusetts Massachusetts Health Connector Oct 23 Jan 23 by Dec 23 Yes
Michigan HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Minnesota MNsure Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Mississippi HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Missouri HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Montana HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Nebraska HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Nevada Nevada Health Link Nov 1 Jan 15 not stated Yes
New Hampshire HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
New Jersey Get Covered New Jersey Nov 1 Jan 31 not stated Yes
New Mexico beWellnm Nov 1 Jan 15 not stated Yes
New York NY State of Health Nov 1 not announced not stated Yes
North Carolina HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
North Dakota HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Ohio HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Oklahoma HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Oregon Explore Health (Oregon Health Insurance Marketplace) Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 31 Yes
Pennsylvania Pennie Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Rhode Island HealthSource RI Nov 1 Jan 31 not stated Yes
South Carolina HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
South Dakota HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Tennessee HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Texas HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Utah HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Vermont Vermont Health Connect Nov 1 Dec 28 by Dec 15 Yes
Virginia Virginia's Insurance Marketplace Nov 1 Jan 29 by Dec 31 Yes
Washington Washington Healthplanfinder Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 31 Yes
West Virginia HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 Yes
Wisconsin HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No
Wyoming HealthCare.gov Nov 1 Jan 15 by Dec 15 No

Why later dates this year: a 2025 federal rule would have ended every exchange's 2027 open enrollment by December 31, and HealthCare.gov's by December 15. A federal court in Maryland vacated that part of the rule on June 16, 2026 (City of Columbus v. Kennedy), and the government has appealed. The table shows the dates each exchange has announced. Check your exchange before a deadline if you hear the appeal has been decided.

Get a reminder before the deadline

Email only
A
BRemind me

Before my state's 2027 open enrollment deadlines

C

Sources: HealthCare.gov dates and deadlines page; each state exchange's 2027 announcement; CMS list of state-based marketplaces (updated August 14, 2026); U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland order of June 16, 2026. All checked October 24, 2026.